Week 2

Hey all, we’re now officially, to two weeks, and time has definitely started to move at least a little bit faster! I’m super busy every minute of every day, but it’s actually really nice, because it creates so much growth, and let’s me turn outward and focus on serving others all the time. That’s what it’s really about. About being like Christ, who never turned inward, but always served others. That’s the example that I am going to try my very hardest to follow for the rest of my life.

As far as teaching in Albanian goes, we found out that the “investigators” we teach are in fact return missionaries that speak fluent Albanian. While that does take a little bit of the pressure off, we can still only speak in Albanian, and are not allowed any scripts or written notes, so it really pushes you out of your comfort zone and into a growth zone. I’m pretty good with memorization, but in the last lesson we gave, we ended up going a different direction than was planned, so I just had to try my best to testify of what I knew in a language that I had been learning for a week and a half. It was amazing, and so very powerful to me. When we finished the lesson, I immediately wrote in my journal about the experience, and writing in English was hard because I was actually (mostly) thinking in Albanian. Thinking in Albanian. After 10 days. If that’s not a miracle, I don’t know what is.

Aside from growing language wise, I am also growing so much spiritually. Every day, I feel more and more love for those I am serving with and those I am going to be serving in Albania. I’d like to think that as I grow closer to the Savior, I have more and more capacity to love others as He did. My purpose here on this mission is to serve others, and to help them become closer to Christ. I strive to do that to the very best of my abilities. The biggest lesson I’m being taught right now is that true happiness comes when we surrender our will to the Lord. When we trust Him and have faith enough in Him to follow His paths rather than our own. And I’m finding that as I do that, there is so much more peace and joy that flows into my life.

I love all of you so very much, and hope that these weekly emails serve to help lift you up, and bring a little bit of joy to your Mondays.

Love,

Elder Draper

IMG_0068IMG_0086 (1)IMG_0096

Leave a Reply

